Generally speaking, an individual facing a charge of DUI for the first time in the Washington State would be able to have the charge reduced or even dismissed than an individual who has a prior DUI charge or conviction. While this isn’t definite, various factors could come into play that could help your case.
What You Stand to Face for a First DUI Charge in Washington
If your blood or breath test resulted in a blood alcohol concentration or BAC or .15, you might face home detention for 15 days or an entire day in jail and license suspension of 90 days as well as relevant administrative sanctions. You could likewise face a costly penalty of $350 in addition to other fees that could be around $900 to $1500 as deemed appropriate by the court. You’d also be on probation for at least five years, perform community service, and have to use an ignition interlock device for an entire year.
However, do note that these general penalties might be more severe if your DUI incident involved aggravating factors or allegations that might make the court believe that you’re a danger to others, warns a renowned defense attorney in Kent. Common aggravating factors include a significantly high BAC level, significant damage to property, underage driving, and injuries to minor passengers or pedestrians. Additional penalties might include wearing a SCRAM (SCRAM Continuous Alcohol Monitoring) bracelet and undergo drug and alcohol evaluation and treatment.
The Main Takeaway
Although it isn’t guaranteed that you could escape a DUI charge, because it’s your first offense, the chances are that you won’t be convicted. However, as mentioned above, there are plenty of factors that could impact your odds. That being said, seek help from a skilled DUI attorney to help make certain that your first DUI offense doesn’t turn into a DUI conviction.